An expert group sets out the overall policy of the Observatory and ensures the quality of the information published on the website. It is currently composed of:

- Prof. dr. Letizia Paoli, K.U. Leuven (Coordinator)
- Prof. dr. Ana Isabel Cerezo, University of Malaga
- Prof. dr. Jack Greene, Northeastern University, Boston
- Prof. dr. Katrien Lauwaert, University of Liège
- Prof. dr. Gorazd Meško, University of Maribor
- Prof. dr. Martin Moerings, University of Leiden
- Prof. dr. Joanna Shapland, University of Sheffield.

Once the Observatory has become fully operative, democratic procedures will be set in place to choose the members of the expert group among the participating institutions.